Oatmeal pancakes

Hi All!

Just like I suspected, posts are becoming sparse since I’m busy enjoying my summer! Hopefully I’ll still manage to post a few times a week.

So the first thing I’ll share is one of favorite breakfasts…oatmeal pancakes. If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you know that I usually stick to oatmeal, berries, and honey in the morning. Well, oatmeal pancakes have the same ingredients, the only extra ingredient is an egg.

Here are those crispy, crunchy beauties.

I would eat these every morning if I had the time to make them. Usually though, I just throw some oatmeal in a pot and let it cook while I take a shower after doing a morning gym sesh. I treated myself to these the other day, and I figured the added protein from the egg would benefit me since I’ve been lifting more than usual.

So here’s the recipe:

Oatmeal Pancakes with Berries & Honey

1 cup of oatmeal

1 egg

1/2 tbsp (or 1 full tbsp)  lowfat margarine

bunch of mixed berries

honey

Directions:

Heat a pan on medium-high heat, add the butter and let it melt.  Mix the oatmeal and egg together (mix it right before you put it in the pan, if it sits around it gets sticky and difficult to form into pancakes). Spoon out half of the oatmeal mixture onto the pan with a fork. Smash it until it’s thin (check out my pictures to see the width it should be). You should be able to make two large pancakes from the oatmeal mixture. Each one will take up half of the pan. Leave the pancakes to cook for 3-4 minutes or so on med-high heat (If you try to flip it early, they’ll crumble). Flip the pancake when you see its golden brown underneath, then let it cook for a few minutes on the other side.

I like to put my frozen berries in between the pancakes to melt them a bit, however you can just put them on top if you like. Dress with honey, and enjoy!

Leave a comment