No go on the MAster Cleanse

I’m going to be 100% honest! I’m off the cleanse. Yes, after one day I decided to stop the cleanse. While I’ve read about so many people who’ve been able to get through the cleanse and reap the benefits, the pros just didn’t outweigh the cons for me.

The reason I stopped is because of the herbal laxative tea (senna tea). Within a few hours on the first day, I was doubled over in pain in the restroom sweating bullets, and I just had to ask myself, is this really worth it? The tea is so strong, I mean, it seems like it’s prescription strength. Since I wasn’t doing the SWF, it required be to drink two cups of senna a day, and I just couldn’t put myself through it for 10 days. I felt sure that the pain would only get worse over time as my body became ’empty’. It seemed like such a waste to spend my first 10 days of summer break in pain and staying indoors.

I’m totally not knocking the Master Cleanse. I’m sure if you do the SWF it’s much better on your stomach, but it just wasn’t for me. Anyway, I was a bit apprehensive about quitting my strength training routine for 10 days.

Now I’m settling for daily workouts and healthy eating to reenergize me for work in August 🙂

Good luck to any of  you out there planning to do the cleanse!

Leave a comment