beautiful day in Hki

Today is such a gorgeous day here in Helsinki! Summer has already officially started, but it’s been on & off with actual summer weather. Today it’s about 18C and sunny, absolute gorgeous beach weather- which is where I would be if it were my summer break yet. Just one more week and I’ll be off of work for all of July! So excited about this 🙂

I took the kiddos to an awesome park here next to our kindergarten. You can see Helsinki is in full bloom.

Our summers here are gorgeous, but short lived. True ‘summer weather’ lasts about a month, maybe a month and a half (the latter part of June & all of July). Of course, summers here are still nothing like the hot summers back in Alabama.

Yesterday, right before bed, I threw together a roast in my crockpot and let it cook through the night so I wouldn’t have to cook today. However, I this morning I realized we were out of salad material so I brought some along for lunch.

I brought some meat, carrots, and a half an onion. I always cook potatoes in my roasts as well, but I leave those for Hubbs. I love the Pioneer Woman and use her recipes for roasts, which can be found here. Browning all of the vegetables before adding them to the roast brings out such a rich flavor. Also, leaving the onions in half-bulbs makes them so much better!

You can probably tell that I didn’t use a very fatty cut for this roast. I have before, and it makes it that much more delicious, but since I’m aiming to lose another kilo (I already lost one!) before my summer break, I stuck with a lean cut. Of course, it wasn’t quite as juicy and tender as previous (fattier) roasts, but still delicious nonetheless.

Like I said, I’ve already lost a kilo! Which is two pounds to my fellow Americans 🙂 I’m probably not going to post every single gym session anymore as it’s getting a bit redundant, however I will update when I have hit my milestones. In case any of you are curious as to the gym routine I’ll be following, take a look at my previous posts and you’ll find the link to the regime I’m following. After I finish it, I’ll resume with my normal gym routine of half an hour of cardio and light weights.

I’m still not sure whether or not I’ll continue to blog during my summer break. I’ll definitely post once a week or so, but since I do all of my blogging here at work (during the kids naptime), I might not find the time to post so frequently.

Here’s my gym session recap for today:

30 minutes running at 9.7

I just did cardio (instead of taking a break)  today since I’ll start week two of my workout regime (shred it for summer)tomorrow.

🙂

Leave a comment